Host and Consortium Partners Selected for the Alaska, Northwest, and Southeast Climate Science Centers

Following an open competition and extensive review by scientific experts, host institutions and consortium partners have been selected for the Alaska, Northwest, and Southeast Climate Science Centers.

The Department of the Interior Climate Science Centers (CSCs) are dedicated to delivering science that helps fish, wildlife, water, land, and people adapt to a changing climate. The CSCs are deeply rooted in federal-university partnerships. Each CSC is hosted by a public university, composed of a multi-institution consortium and managed by the USGS National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center. These partnerships ensure access to a broad range of scientific expertise, production of high-quality science, and sharing of funds, resources and facilities. University involvement also allows the CSCs to introduce students to the idea of “co-producing” science, in which scientists and decision-makers work closely together to ensure scientific research and products are usable and directly address real-world problems.

Approximately every five years, host universities and consortium partners for the CSCs are selected through a competitive re-compete process. The Alaska, Northwest, and Southeast CSCs were established in 2010 and underwent their first re-competition in 2016. These three CSCs are now structured as follows:

Alaska CSC
The University of Alaska Fairbanks will remain the host institution for the Alaska CSC, led by University Director Scott Rupp. The University of Alaska Anchorage remains a partner institution, and is joined by the University of Alaska Southeast, a new consortium partner.

Read the Alaska CSC Press Release here

Northwest CSC
The University of Washington was selected to be the new host for the Northwest CSC, led by University Director Amy Snover. Consortium institutions include Boise State University, the University of Montana, Washington State University, and Western Washington University.

Read the UW Press Release here

Southeast CSC
North Carolina State University will remain the host institution for the Southeast CSC, and will be led by University Director Harry Daniels. New consortium partners include Auburn University, Duke University, the University of Florida, the University of South Carolina, and the University of Tennessee.

Read the NCSU Press Release here


Published Date: August 8th, 2017
Keywords: Partners