CSC Recompetition

Apply Now! Hosting Recompetition for the North Central and Southwest Climate Science Centers

Proposals Due: September 7, 2017 at 3:00 PM EDT

Guidelines, Requirements, and Application Instructions >>


Have questions? Please see the CSC Recompetition FAQ here (Updated December 12, 2016) or contact


Map with CSC regions and (re)compete announcement schedule

Climate Science Center host institutions are expected to provide expertise and experience to achieve the CSC mission of identifying climate/global change impacts to and effective adaptation strategies for land; water; fish and wildlife; nearshore, coastal and cultural heritage resources; and the ecosystem services upon which human communities depend. Host Institutions are eligible for projects and project funding as a component of the hosting agreement.

Estimated dates for the announcements to recompete the CSC hosts:

2016: Southeast, Northwest, Alaska, Midwest (proposed) CLOSED
2017: Southwest, North Central OPEN
2018: Pacific Islands, South Central, Northeast

A formal review of each CSC is being conducted on a similar timeline. Learn more about the CSC reviews >>

Q&A Webinars: To facilitate the financial assistance application process, a series of webinars have been conducted by the NCCWSC to accommodate inquiries from Applicants about this program and the proposal review, evaluation, and selection process. The most recent webinar was held on June 28, 2017 (slides from the June 28 webinar can be found here). Recordings from these webinars can be made available upon request (please email 

Past Announcements: In May 2016, the U.S. Geological Survey released a Program Announcement via to request applications to host CSCs in four regions. Three of these – Alaska, Northwest and Southeast – were re-competitions of the hosting arrangements currently in place in those regions. The fourth was a planned new CSC that would be created by splitting the Northeast CSC region, which presently encompasses all or part of 22 states. This new region would be comprised of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, and Kentucky (see a map of the proposed region here). This proposal was announced in the President’s FY2017 budget, and establishment of the CSC is contingent upon Congressional action on that proposal. The original May 2016 program announcement is now CLOSED.



Recompetition Materials

Find below documents, presentations, and other materials related to the recompetition of cooperative agreements between the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the institutions that host the Climate Science Centers (CSCs). This page is intended to ensure full access by all parties to relevant information on planning and process for the competition and award process itself, as well as on relevant forward-looking strategic discussions that occur with respect to individual CSCs and the network as a whole. 

Review, Recompetition, and Award Related Documents