CSC Universities and Consortia

The Department of the Interior (DOI) Climate Science Centers (CSCs) are Federal-university collaborations established to provide natural and cultural resource managers with the tools and information they need to develop and execute management strategies that address the impacts of climate change on a broad range of natural and cultural resources. Established by the U.S. Geological Survey, CSCs are located on university campuses and are often comprised of multi-institution consortia, some of which include non-university partners, such as Indian tribes and federal research labs. Find below a map and list of host and consortium members for each CSC.  Many of the CSC University Consortia develop and maintain websites, in addition to the federal CSC websites, to highlight CSC news, events, projects, and related information. Links to these websites are also provided below.

Click to enlarge 
Download the map and data on

Alaska CSC

Host: University of Alaska Fairbanks (in Anchorage)

Consortium Website:


North Central CSC

Host: Colorado State University - Fort Collins

Consortium Members: Colorado School of Mines, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, Montana State University, University of Colorado, University of Montana, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, and University of Wyoming

Consortium Website:


Northeast CSC

Host: University of Massachusetts - Amherst

Consortium Members: College of Menominee Nation, Columbia University, Marine Biological Laboratory, University of Minnesota, University of Missouri -  Columbia, and University of Wisconsin – Madison

Consortium Website:


Northwest CSC

Host: Oregon State University

Consortium Members: University of Washington and University of Idaho

Consortium Website:

Pacific Islands CSC

Host: University of Hawai`i - Manoa

Consortium Members: University of Hawai`i - Hilo and University of Guam

Consortium Website:


South Central CSC

Host: University of Oklahoma

Consortium Members: Louisiana State University, The Chickasaw Nation, The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, NOAA’s Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, and Texas Tech University

Consortium Website:


Southeast CSC

Host: North Carolina State University

University Website:


Southwest CSC

Host: University of Arizona - Tucson

Consortium Members: University of California - Davis, University of California - Los Angeles, Desert Research Institute, Scripps Institution of  Oceanography, and University of Colorado – Boulder

Consortium Website: